Page 2 of 2

Re: Porting NTL to Android environment

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 1:53 pm
by victorshoup
Ok. So the the MulHi errors are probably not a real problem.
The build script is looking for some assembly code that may not exist for your
platform. But it should find some other code that will do the job.
That said, we could add the assembly code for your system.
It is not essential....NTL makes use of a "long long"-like type.

Re: Porting NTL to Android environment

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 12:35 am
by peiworld
Thanks,

What do I need to do to generate these assembly codes?

If I can bypass the setup4, then I have the automated script for cross-compiling. But my understanding is that we ignored all the optimization settings. Also, I have not tested the generated lib file yet. Will find time to test it and report back.

The other alternative is to merge the code to something like autotools or cmake. I can have a look if you don't mind me asking some obvious questions.

Re: Porting NTL to Android environment

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:31 am
by nemirst
Check out my NTL port to Android, might be useful: https://github.com/nemirst/ntl-android

Re: Porting NTL to Android environment

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 4:14 pm
by victorshoup
Hi,

Yes, it is a bit tricky, because NTL's build procedure is not really designed for cross compilation.
For example, to check for the existence of various features, it tries to compile and run various
test programs. It also does this to tune a number of performance flags.

In the short term, the quickest way is to do things by hand.
That said, the mach_desc.h file really should be built by running the MakeDesc program
on the target machine. You could also do that by hand, I suppose.

It would be nice if there were a general way to do this. Specifically, to compile programs for the target
and to then run them on the target. Maybe be the build procedure could be generalized to do this.

Some questions:
* is the target compilation done on the computer or on the phone?
* is it possible to run programs on the phone from the computer, by means of some
bash command?